May 22, 2013

Comments (14)

  • Well Vex with your chosen format I can’t see your pictures. My monitor resolution is 800×500 and if I enlarge it all text is too small. So thanks to xanga new format and XP I’ll have to find another way to see the picture.

    btw once in my life did I see one of these gorgeous birds. I was in PA.

  • he’s a little red head isn’t he?

  • We have them on campus – a couple years ago one was injured and brought to us. We rrealized what it was (and they are protected) so were able to get a rehabilitator to take it in and nurse it back to health… Got to see it up close and they are bigger than the photo would indicate!

  • So it has a red head?

  • What an interesting looking bird. Too bad birds don’t sit around while you get your camera and tripod out! They are rude that way.

  • A beautiful bird! Those first-sighting shots are very special, even if not the best shots.

  • Dear Bill,

    I won’t mention that it’s a bit out of focus then.Loved the Smokey mountain shots along the Roaring Fork trail.Your poem “How Much do You Love me” is beautiful.Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • Thanks for the added info.  I believe they are one of the largest if not the largest of the woodpeckers. @murisopsis - 

  • You are a very lucky bird watcher and photographer, thanks for sharing!

  • That head is cardinal red! Thanks for sharing… You must own a bird book.

  • What a beautiful woodpecker! I love woodpeckers! There is one that hangs around my house!
    HUGS!!!
    PS…innuendo intended!
    PSS…seriously, it’s a beautiful bird!

  • I like the game of colors in your posts : green below , then purple (the flower ) and at last red and black ( this wonderful bird ) . Bravo for the photo

    In friendship
    Michel

  • Great photo! It is exciting to see one. Usually we hear them before we see them.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *