January 28, 2014

  • Yes, we do have snow!

    snow3

     

    I’m guessing we have about 2 inches of the white stuff with more coming down.  Temperatures below freezing.

    Should*

    Should echoes

    bang hard against the wall

    of his brain

    Must resounds

    repeatedly begging

    compliance

    Words instilled

    to sculpt

    his soul

    to fit

    their mold

    * a short little poem about what Albert Ellis calls “musterbating” and “shoulding on yourself”

    click below for more information about musterbation.

    http://albertellis.org/musturbation-stop-rubbing-wrong-way/

    Above is a link to musturbation.  I have no idea why it didn’t show before.

Comments (7)

  • Is that a pussy willow upon which that snow sits? It’s been years since I’ve seen one. SO sweet, soft and fuzzy.
    Stay warm.

  • I have a dear friend who taught me not to ‘should on myself’ — hadn’t heard of musterbating, but I like the concept. Great poem, Bill!

  • I didn’t find a link, but I googled it to learn about those words which were unfamiliar to me…. and now your poem makes becomes very clear to me. Living a life of “musts” & “shoulds” isn’t the way to enjoy life!
    And I love the picture!

  • I like to leave the musts and should to regulatory documents… We can’t even find the pussy willow bushes! Hope you stay warm and safe!

  • To musterbate or not to musterbate, that is the question. Should I or shouldn’t I?

    Beautiful photo!
    Good advice poem!

    I have to be careful the should’s and must’s and just let my soul be free.

    I don’t see the link you mentioned. Hmm…maybe I’ve gone blonde…er…ah…I mean blind.

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • I know I have a friend who always tells me not to should on myself.
    So you do have snow.

  • Love the photo. Love the poem. Great article about masturbation. I don’t know what I would have done if I had seen the rat sitting on the shoulder of a co-passenger.

    RYC: Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the sweet comment you left on my post about “COLORS”.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *