Month: January 2014

  • Yes, we do have snow!

    snow3

     

    I’m guessing we have about 2 inches of the white stuff with more coming down.  Temperatures below freezing.

    Should*

    Should echoes

    bang hard against the wall

    of his brain

    Must resounds

    repeatedly begging

    compliance

    Words instilled

    to sculpt

    his soul

    to fit

    their mold

    * a short little poem about what Albert Ellis calls “musterbating” and “shoulding on yourself”

    click below for more information about musterbation.

    http://albertellis.org/musturbation-stop-rubbing-wrong-way/

    Above is a link to musturbation.  I have no idea why it didn’t show before.

  • No Blossoms Here

    Back in Tennessee and no flowers blooming around here except inside of course.  I took this photo with my iPhone during one of my walks in Tempe.  I sure miss that 70 degree temperature. floweronwalk

  • Take Off!

    Bird101

     

    I don’t the kind of bird but it took off for flight just as the camera snapped.  I guess we might say this is flight at first flap.

  • Snow Today

    winterscene

     

    First snow

    The world is white

    in color only

  • Mead’s Quarry Park

     

    http://www.knoxville.org/vendor/2849/mead-s-quarry-park/

    quarry

     

    Link above to the Quarry

    Here is another photo of headstones. graves

    there is a cemetery along the trail.  A sign there noted that one couple was buried head-to-head instead of side by side because they had been divorced.  I had never heard of that tradition!  Wonder what one does if he or she has been divorced two or three times?

    Mt.LeConte

     

    Not the best photo but off in a distance from a clearing along the trail one could see the snow on the mountains.

    I did this hike with my oldest son and we had to admit it was “cold” on the trail.

  • Rose on the altar

    EliRose

     

    To signal a birth

    A rose adorns the altar

    Eli has now arrived

    Note: Our church places a rose on the altar each time some church family has a new arrival.  Dec 22nd one of these roses signaled the birth of Eli, my grandson who was born on Dec. 18th.  7 lbs. 4 oz. IMG_1234

    Here is a photo of Eli.  I am sure he will become a shortstop in MLB because of his long limbs and large hands.